Guest Blog Post: Morgan Bell – Writing About Mental Illness

Laura Brown

Please welcome Morgan Bell to my blog! I’ve posted recently about my own struggles with depressed feelings, especially as it relates to my writing. When Morgan contacted me about her book, which exams mental health issues, I knew I wanted to hear more from her! Her novel, Sniggerless Boundulations, is compilations of short stories. Read more from Morgan’s own words:

Writing about mental illness

For me, when writing about mental illness, I try to get the reader to emote with the character, get them to share an experience. I do not name the mental illness in the story, or dwell on treatment or medications, or even have the characters admit they suffer from a mental illness, I just paint a picture and hope you can relate.

When I was a teenager at high school I read “Cosi” by Louis Nowra. It is a play set in a mental health…

View original post 752 more words

Leave a Reply

